Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
The Home of the ROAR - #AmbushOn - @RCC_ATHLETICS
Photo by Stephen Day
Photo by Stephen Day

Men’s Track & Field Wins 23rd Conference Title in Program History

The Riverside City College men's track and field programs runs the Orange Empire Conference (OEC); no pun intended. For the eighth season the Tigers participated in the OEC Finals, they Tigers reigned supreme by routing the competition leading to 448 total points.

Riverside hauled in its 23rd conference championship in school history. Orange Coast placed second overall with 174 points, while Saddleback followed with 11 points. Head Coach Jim McCarron was named the OEC Male Coach of the Year after the win.

The Tigers swept the podium in every throwing event to set the tone. They began with the Hammer as Donal Aluesi (181' 5") earned a first-place mark, backed by a second-place finish from Christian Burroughs (164' 7") and a third-place mark from Edward Ta'amilo (156').

Ta'amilo followed with a top-finish in the Discus (163'), backed by a second-place showing from Aluesi (160' 7"). Burroughs (158' 10") rounded out the podium with a third-place showing, while Alan Rennie (145' 1") earned the fourth position.

Aluesi earned his second top mark of the day coming in the Shot Put (50' 6 ¾"), while Ta'amilo (50' 1 ¼") followed in second place. Burroughs (48' 10") placed third overall, while Rennie (47' 2 ¼") rounded out the top four. Anthony McCullough earned the silver medal in the Javelin (177' 1").

Darius Hill continued to dominate in all events highlighted by three first-place finishes in the Long Jump (23' 4 ¾"), Triple Jump (44' 11 ½") and High Jump (6' 8 ¾"). His efforts earned him the OEC Field Athlete of the Year. Reno Vasquez, who was named the OEC  Multis Athlete of the Year, placed third overall in the High Jump (6' 4 ¾"). Quinten Flowers earned the silver medal in the Triple Jump (42' 6 ¾").

Joshua Hornsby shined once again by placing first in the 110 M Hurdles (14.23). He broke the OEC record with his mark leading to being tabbed the OEC Track Athlete of the Year.

Dominic Boykins and Jabari McMillon finished consecutively in the 100 M. Boykins (10.76) earned the top spot, while McMillion (10.94) finished second overall. Boykins continued on to snag the top spot in the 200 M  (21.97), backed by Elijah Davis (22.11) snagging the second place position.

Kyle Reden and Luke Gleason took ownership of the top two spots in the 800 M with Reden (1:53.98) earned the gold. Gleason (1:55.85) earned the silver medal.

Ernesto Ruiz finished first in the 3000 M Steeplechase (9:58.70) with the lone sub 10-minute mark. He continued on to earn his second first-place mark of the day with a top spot in the 5000 M (15:30.51). Gavyn Condit followed in third place in the 5000 M (15:38.97).

The Tigers swept the podium in the 400 M with Elijah Davis (49.22) placing first overall. Tyler Walker (49.44) placed second, while Charlie Ruiz (49.83) placed third.

The relays were swept by the Tigers beginning with the 4 x 100 M Relay (42.38) compliments of McMillon, Boykins, Josiah hooks and Davis. The followed with a 1600 M Relay (3:18.89) victory featuring Tyler Walker, Gleason, Ruiz and Davis.